Op-Ed

Absence makes the heart grow fonder. . .

While this statement may be true, I have to say it is unequivocally UNTRUE when it comes to reading.

Some of you may have seen a recent lapse in my blogs/interviews etc. Fortunately/unfortunately, it has just been a season of life that is particularly busy. We had a death in the family, and I received a promotion with my job- which of course put my focus on other responsibilities. Reading had taken a back seat. Although my mind yearned to get lost in a book, I was barely able to keep my eyes open the minute I sat down at night.

My friends continued reading and continually tried to get me (re)interested in books, I would follow new releases, but I just felt stuck in a rut. I also felt as though I was unable to write a blog- that I had no words left in me, and had run out of anything intelligent or eloquent to say. All in all, it felt as though things were not “clicking” into place.

I can finally say that (I THINK) I’m over the slump, and am ready to start back up again. The biggest thing is now having the time to read and process my thoughts. So does absence (of books) make the heart grow fonder? Not for me.. . it made me cranky, and sad (that I couldn’t find the time to sit and read) and jealous (that other people had the time to sit and read) and I was getting absolutely nowhere in my TBR list.

So thanks for your patience and sticking it out with me here at Quitterstrip! I hope to be posting some new material in the near future!

 

~*Angie*~

Leave a Reply

