book review

“Melody’s Key”- Dallas Coryell

I was graciously contacted by the author, Dallas Coryell, to receive a copy of “Melody’s Key” in exchange for an honest review. That being said, it has not altered my opinion of the book whatsoever. “Melody’s Key” was published on June 17th 2016 and is available for purchase.

Dallas Coryell is a new author for me- and apparently a new author himself, with “Melody’s Key” being his debut novel. I’m gonna say it right here people- if you want a quick romantic (not raunchy) read, please do yourself a favor and pick up this book! I’m going to be as bold as I can and compare “Melody’s Key” to “The Notebook” AND “PS: I Love You”- that’s how good the feels are. So- on to the review. . .

Okay. . . here we go. . .

This post won’t make sense for the first few sentences. . . just hang on a moment and let me ramble. I have never read a Nicholas Sparks book. . .SHOCKING. . .I know. I have no intentions of reading a Nicholas Sparks book . . .SHOCKING. . .I know. Why you ask? Valid question- I have already seen the majority of the movies. . .so perhaps when my “To Be Read” list is actually manageable, then maybe. Until that unprecedented moment in time though, I have books like “Melody’s Key” to get my hopeless romantic side on a frenzy.

Tegan Lockwood is your typical girl, staying in the family business for the sake of her family. Lockwood Holiday, in England, has remained in the family for decades, unfortunately so has the debt and the constant maintenance. Although Tegan has graduated, and earned a scholarship to an art school in the US, but has had to put her dreams on hold to save her parents money, and to help out for the holiday season.

Summers are primed for business. The Lockwood’s always have a group of tourists in their home. Much to the chagrin of Tegan’s four siblings, it is their busiest time to work. It seems that Tegan’s only minor escape is from the key that hangs around her neck. This ordinarily old looking key unlocks another world Tegan can escape in- a love story that’s written into her own ancestry.

Out of all the summers that Lockwood Holiday has been open, this will be the first and last memorable summer. With back payments, and debt up to the ceiling, the time has come for the holiday’s to come to a close. The Lockwood’s need a miracle, and that miracle comes in the most unlikely of heroes- an American pop star sorting out his dark side.

Never judge a book by it’s cover is the PERFECT explanation on the relationships in this book. The reader’s will watch Tegan work through her past love issues, her apathy towards an American pop star, and trying to save her family’s home. I can’t even begin to tell you how easily you can relate to all of the characters in this book. And a HUGE thank you goes out to Dallas for restoring my faith that chivalry is truly not dead. “Melody’s Key” restores my hope in absolute true romance.

Through wit, humor, and nerdy jokes that only the superior few can quite literally laugh out loud to, Dallas Coryell has made his mark amidst the romantic authors. Not only does he write a brilliant (and building) love story, but he builds a phenomenal family structure that has you wishing you were apart of the Lockwood’s. Rivaling “The Notebook”, and “PS I Love You”, Coryell has you feeling emotions that can be very easily be buried down deep. I found myself (too) easily relating to Tegan, in more ways than one. “Melody’s Key” is written so in tune with everyday life, that the story comes naturally, without predictability.

Dallas, I aptly applaud you of your writing talents. Your ability to start a fresh page and have the story build continuously, to write a family dynamic so well (something I feel is SORELY lacking with books), and to ultimately write a love story that just won’t quit. . .well I just can’t put into words. AND the fact that you had me feeling just about every emotion known to man, laughing out loud at your nerdy snark, and just genuinely falling in love with all the characters and their interaction. . .

wpnp1

Thank  you for keeping family, love, and heartbreak realistic, instead of having reader’s read UNREALISTIC expectations. All too often I read love stories which leave me thinking” there is no way that could actually happen.”

“Melody’s Key” is one of those books that I’m secretly wishing I can get signed. . .no. . .I’m not fan-girling at all!

Dallas Coryell- thank you so very much for allowing me to review your debut novel. Words aren’t even enough to express how much I enjoyed every minute of reading “Melody’s Key”. I hope to work with you again in the future, and wish you the best of luck in your future works (AND MUSIC!).

download (2)

Leave a Reply

