book review

“The Bone Witch”- Rin Chupeco

I was chosen by Netgalley to receive an advanced reader copy of “The Bone Witch” by Rin Chupeco. Given that fact, it has not altered my opinion on the book at all. “The Bone Witch” has a scheduled release date of March 7th 2017.

Rin Chupeco is a new author for me- so naturally I have to look up said author and do a bit of research. It looks as though Chupeco is writing two separate series, along with a standalone:

  1. The Bone Witch series
  2. The Girl from the Well series
  3. Firekeeper

All books are classified as young adult, and this soon to be 30 year old enjoyed reading “The Bone Witch”.

Can we take just a second to appreciate this cover? I won’t lie, the cover in itself is why I requested the book. Obviously I had no idea about the author, or even the plot of this book, but this cover ::SIGH::. . .this would look positively gorgeous as a display.

I’m actually quite nervous to write this review- I strive for absolute honesty with my readers. So once again, this book will be a split review, and I’ll explain my reasoning throughout the post. I always like to get the bad news over with, so here we go:

WHY THIS BOOK DESERVED A

3-Star-Rating

It takes a lot for me to dislike a book. Not to say that I didn’t like this book, but the majority of the backstory is pretty much a repeat of “Memoirs of a Geisha”. Without discussing the differences (yet), here are the similarities I noticed:

  • a young girl being “adopted” into a house
  • an older, stern “mother” who doesn’t think said girl has potential, also a financial guru
  • young girl needs to earn her keep by doing chores
  • young girl will debut at some point
  • young girl will go to “school” and learn the arts of her trade
  • young girl provided a wardrobe specific to her, which she will pay back once she earns money
  • will eventually “buy” her freedom once she pays back her house
  • even the main dance (you all remember that scene, right?) is in this book!

If you’ve read/watched “Memoirs of a Geisha” that sounds familiar, right? That is why I was particularly disappointed with the backstory details. It is for this reason alone that “The Bone Witch” deserves a 3 star rating.

WHY THIS BOOK DESERVED A

4-Star-Rating

“Memoirs of a Geisha” likeness aside, the leftovers (as you will) provided an absolutely fascinating read. This book contained:

  • witches
  • runes
  • supernatural abilities
  • “zombies” (although in the book they use the word familiars)
  • romance
  • Heartstones (you know the saying, “you wear your heart on your sleeve”? Well in the book they wear them around their neck)
  • good versus evil

Unlike most fantasy books I read this year, I did not get swept up in the world, mainly because I felt as though I had already read this world (I read “Memoirs of a Geisha”). However, that’s not to say someone else wouldn’t enjoy this book. For some reason, my brain just could not get over the fact that I felt half of this book was taken from an already published (and cinematic!) idea. But once you take all of that out, it literally takes away 75% of the book.

I will give “The Bone Witch” this praise though. I may have not liked the setup for the first book, but the way it ends leaves a wide berth for the upcoming sequels. It leaves the read with just enough to want to continue reading the next book. And I’ll be honest, I DO plan on reading the remaining books for this series, only to see if it progressively gets better.

Please don’t let my review deter you in anyway. You can read an excerpt here. . .give it a go, and comment and let me know what you think! Is it enough to get you interested? Do you think you’ll give this book a try in the new year?

Until then, “The Bone Witch” (unfortunately) earns a 3 star rating with this book blogger.

3-Star-Rating

 

Leave a Reply

